Walkabout (Free Choice)

For this post I tried experimenting with some macro Photography! Now is isn’t the actual and true macro photos that come with having a macro lens. This was just me experimenting with the macro mode on my camera. And some of them turned out pretty good in my opinion! Here are some examples of true macro photography, which I hope to do someday. Notice how they all focus on things that are super small to begin with, and the abstract colors in the background. Thats what makes macro photography super cool in my opinion, the background blends together to give the photo a sharper look. Thats super cool to me.  HERE is an even better link that I found. This one has a ton of different ideas on macro photography. Well here are my pictures-

budding tree limg 2

(Sorry if they are small, couldn’t figure out what was up with them.) Its spring here in Hayden, Idaho. This means that the flowers and colors that make this town awesome are starting to sprout up. I thought this one was cool because of how the tree in the background was able to let some color in around the bud itself. The sky just highlights the image, and this causes it to pop out more.

budding tree limg

This is another tree that was budding, but a different type of tree. This one is cool because instead of a small little bud, this one is huge! Yet again the tree in the background let in some of that blue sky, and it highlighted my image pretty well!

crystals

This is a picture of a little glass vase that we have sitting on our back porch. This looks kinda weird at first, but when I got close to it with my macro it turned out pretty cool! With a dab of Photoshopping, this image turned out to be pretty cool!

dandylion

This one is pretty simple, just a dandelion that had blown away and was regrowing in the gravel. My macro lens setting adjustment doesn’t get close like true macro lens, but it does let me get closer to them. This gets some extra detail into the picture, and I liked the look that the flower has with the grass and the gravel.

gem flowerd

 

Around our porch we have these fake flowers that look like they are made of gems. Its just colored glass, but up close you get some of the bubbles in the picture. It gives the picture some texture. It also has some natural framing going on in the picture,  with the rebar on the side of the flower.

Hornets nest

At the back of my house their is a forest. Walking around I found this hornets nest, and I thought that it looked pretty cool. I started to get closer until I realized that their was a ton of wasps inside just starting to wake up. That made me back off for a while. But otherwise I like the sun that is streaming in around the leaves. I think that adds a cool look to the picture.

little flowers

Some more of the macro photography, or at least my best attempt at it. The little buds look cool, and the detail that the macro lens gives me is just awesome! It really makes the pictures look cool and I plan on experimenting some more with them!

macro

This is another one of the fake jewel flowers, except that this one is a butterfly. It looks cool with its wings, and the metal surrounding the “head” of the butterfly. I like the green background, and wish that I had covered the entire thing with it.

Ray of sunlight

This is just a cool picture of the forest around my house. I like the sunlight that goes through the tree leaves. It gives it a mysterious magical feeling. I didn’t enhance the photo much besides to up the contrast, and add some vibrance to the picture. Otherwise I think that its a pretty cool picture on its own!

shiny rock

This is a rock. A little boring on its own, but when I zoomed in on the picture, the spots on the rock were enhanced a lot more, which I liked! I thought that this photo was just pretty cool, because of the different layers of the photo. Their is the top layer, which is the pine needles on top of the rock. Then the middle layer, which is the white rock. Then their is the bottom layer, with the darker rocks, that are a lot smaller than the others. That gives it some good depth of field.

Leave a Reply

